Off To Barcelona

Despite my affection for Paris, it was inevitable for me to leave this romantic place  and head to my next destination, Barcelona. The Talgo night train which runs between Paris and Barcelona departed at exactly 8.30pm. It was my first time ever travelling between European countries using trains so I was really excited . The trip left from Paris’s Gare d’Austerlitz and arrived in Barcelona’s Sants station in mere 12 hours.

 


The Talgo train travels between Paris and Barcelona.


My tears flowed as pieces of Paris drifted away from me.

 

My ticket costed EUR$150 which allowed me to share a room with bunker beds with three other people. Initially, the beds were hidden behind the walls in the room and passengers can sit and enjoy the scenery outside the window. Afterwards, the staff will come into the room and kindly arrange the beddings.

 


The hard-working staff on the train swiftly transformed our seats into beds.

 

Meanwhile, I went to the bar at the back of the train to check out the crowd. The bar was small so it took me about 15 minutes before I got a seat. They choice on the menu was limited, so I ordered a coke light EUR$1.7 with a packet of Doritos EUR$2. Watching the sky turning dark while sipping a can of coke on an express train… how can I describe the experience? Simply awesome!

 


Drinking and dining on the train is one of the unique experiences of travelling in Europe.

 

Talgo Official Website: http://www.talgo.com/

This entry was posted in Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment